Northerns "Blues" Hockey Association

Tournament Umpires

Having such a large corps of dedicated umpires means that Northerns umpires and umpires' managers regularly feature well at international tournaments and national tournaments at all levels.  On this page we will highlight all those appointments as and when they are announced.

International Appointments in 2014

African Youth Olympics Qualifiers: Lusaka, Zambia, 10 - 15 March
Gershwin Reid
23rd Sultan Azlan Shah Cup: Ipoh, Malaysia, 13 - 23 March
John Wright (umpired the final)
Six Nations Invitational: Hastings, New Zealand, 5 - 13 April
Michelle Joubert (umpired the final)
Champions Challenge I: Kuantan, Malaysia, 26 April - 4 May
Henno Pretorius (Video Analysis)
13th Men's World Cup: The Hague, Netherlands, 31 May - 15 June
John Wright (umpired the final)
13th Women's World Cup: The Hague, Netherlands, 31 May - 15 June
Michelle Joubert (umpired the final)
SA vs Australia Under 18 Series: Pietermaritzburg, 8 - 10 July
Darren Hubach
Gershwin Reid
Investec Cup: London, England, 9 - 13 July
Peter Wright (umpired the final)
Annelize Rostron
20th Commonwealth Games: Glasgow, Scotland, 23 July - 3 August
Peter Wright (umpired the semi-final)
Annelize Rostron
Africa Club Championships: Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, 22 - 30 November
Kirk Mendoza (umpired the final)
21st Women's Champions Trophy: Mendoza, Argentina, 29 November - 7 December
Annelize Rostron
35th Men's Champions Trophy: Bhubaneswar, India, 6 - 14 December
Peter Wright


National Appointments in 2014

Senior IPT
Gershwin Reid (Pro/Rel Match)
Kirk Mendoza (Pro/Rel Match)
Chris Gerber (B Final)
Lazarus Maribe
Henno Pretorius (Video Analyst)
La-Roche Potgieter (Semi-final)
Lizé Strydom
Samantha Friend (Video Analyst)
Under 21 IPT
Chris Gerber (Final)
Gershwin Reid (Final)
Franco Olivier (Semi-final)
Colin Mendoza
Mariana Putter (Semi-final, Final reserve)
La-Roché Potgieter (Semi-final)
Darren Hubach (Final)Annelize Rostron (Final)
La-Roché Potgieter
Smiley Bester
Gerrit Faling
Sheldon Agenbag
Kagiso Mathaba
Helgard Brink
Henno Pretorius
Jimmy Mendoza (UM)
Kirk Mendoza (Asst UM)
Colin Mendoza (Asst UM)
Kokkie Sieling
SA Country Districts
Casper Krüger
Lazarus Maribe
Etienne Meintjes
Kagiso Mathaba
Jimmy Mendoza (UM)
Ruani van Schalkwyk
Under 18 IPT
Paul Botha (B Semi-final)
Jacques Odendaal (B Final)
Jonathan Twigg(B Final)
Kruschev Kasiram
Lizé Strydom (A Final)
Juliet Horne (B Final)
Elricke Bronkhorst
Celmari Human
Under 16 IPT
Sheldon Agenbag
Duane Edwards (A Semi-final)
Niel Nortje
Kirk Mendoza (UM)
Henno Pretorius (Asst UM)
Leigh Grindley-Ferris
Chrisna Slabbert
Leandri Smith
National Under 13 IPT
JP HauptLeandri Smith

Back to top

The NBHA is a regular beneficiary of the NLDTF
Supports the NBHA